me! me? me.

Life is indeed a box of chocolates; lots of times there are nuts on it.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

I am a technical writer (with loads of non-technical writer work, which i enjoy btw) for the software development leg of a US-based 'know more' company. When not in my office desk, I am lurking around shopping malls and online stores looking for the best portable Ebook reader, which by the way is still unavailable in the Philippines. And no, I don't miss smoking. No, I don't like Chocolates. No, I am not religious. Yes, I love coffee, nothing Frappe please.

Mobile Phone:

Photos

Message Bored

Leave a message ▼
A writer's stage is his writings; his backstage, his world.

noobies guide to ‘friendster hacked’

Friday, December 19, 2008

“If you are having doubts in opening a link, try using your favorite search engine to get information about it

The pictures you’ll see here are the ones being posted on several friendster profile comments. DON’T EVER CLICK ON THESE PICTURES IN FRIENDSTER! Even if looks like something from YouTube, Yahoo, or other reputable sites..

Of course I’m not an authority to speak on how malicious viruses, spywares, or worms work in detail or get distributed massively. But I’d like to share a quick and VERY basic guide (a noobies guide) on what to do with stuff like this:

[1] Hold your horses. Not because there’s a woman (or a man) with a great body looking straight at you from your 22-inch monitor means you have to click on them to follow the lead towards the pot of gold. Get it elsewhere. A good social networking site will not lure you into this.

[2] Roll your mouse pointer over the pictures or hyperlinks found in some friendster profiles. DO NOT CLICK ON THEM! I repeat. DO NOT CLICK ON THEM! They won’t take their clothes off when you click on them.  So I repeat, DO NOT CLICK ON THEM!

What you should to is look at the lower left corner of your browser window while your mouse pointer is over those pictures or hyperlinks. Assuming your status bar is enabled, you should see the actual link or web address of that object you’re about to click on. If it displays something that looks malicious to you, don’t click on it. (If you can’t see it, it’s either: [1] it is not linked, or [2] your status bar is not enabled. To display the status bar, go to the menus on top of the browser window, click on ‘View’, and then ‘Status Bar’.)

NOTE: Some of the web addresses displayed for the object appears to be something familiar, like “mail.yahooo.com” or “en.wikipidia.com”, but notice the incorrect spellings. It’s most likely a bogus or malicious site.

Sample pictures in friendster that you dare not click on (read: in friendster. If you click on it from this blog, nothing will happen):

 

 Some ‘almost nude’ pix…

 …and then, some wholesome videos.

 

The first couple of picture comments will display “http://free4uwebcams.com” or “http://friendjster.com/1″ upon rolling your mouse pointer over it. The last one is pointed to “http://login2.friendjster.com/1″ and is NOT a YouTube video. It is not even a video at all. These will direct you to probably a malicious site or straight into the hackers’ hands. —> (Again, you are not stupid to open or go to this links. Repeat. You are not stupid to open or go to this links.)

That applies to all other sites and web links. If you are having doubts in opening a link, try using your favorite search engine to get information about it (use the link as the search keywords). You may just find your answers.

Better be safe than sorry. Better be researching than sorry.

 * * * Update 2008.12.21 / 1:14 am: got another comment with the link now pointing to chatwebcamfree.com. Somehow something tells me its getting worse. I wonder what the friendster webmasters are doing about this.

* * * Update 2008.12.21 / 4:13 am: more friends are getting these comments; I already emailed friendster about it. I am not obsessed about the issue, but I guess I should at least do something instead of just writing a blog about it. That’s the least I can do. I’ll send an update if I get a reply, or if they get to fix the mess.

Posted by ianpestelos at 4:25 am | permalink

Previous Comments

Yes i recieved one of this in the morning, was quick enough to notic the j in friendjster.
Did some whois search of the site.

http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=http%3A%2F%2Ffriendjster.com&tld=com

Not sure if the informations is real. But this “Zhongbin” who owns friendjster.com live in China, in the province of Henan in the city of kaifeng.

Posted by Silencer at December 19, 2008, 11:32 am

here’s the f**kers link!

http://whois.domaintools.com/friendjster.com

He’s from china

Posted by rich at December 19, 2008, 2:15 pm

Thanks both for your research. Unfortunately though, I still receive at least one comment per day linked to these sites.

Just another thought, if the friendJster site is intended to spam, scam or infect users, I don’t think the guy who registered the site will indicate his correct location, unless he’s stupid. Of course I could be wrong.

Posted by ianpestelos at December 21, 2008, 6:26 am

I’ve noticed this since some of my friends who are hot beautiful girls that were not in to porn stuff and I was surprised and wonder why they got suddenly interested on the things that I always watch, hehehehe. If you use, Mozilla Firefox, the phishing websites like the link to alvin and the chipmunks faked video will be block by firefox. How about we send some DDS (Denial Of Service) attack to this spamming websites by making a php script that keeps making automated registrations to this website, http://www.perfspot.com. This website is the site when you click on that hot chick pic who said that her webcam is now online.

I’ve noticed that they had no image captcha on their registration and their registration page doesn’t work which means that they just use this for spamming purposes. So how about we “hanged their servers”? Anybody interested?

Posted by Chael at December 22, 2008, 4:43 am

First … it is not infectious. it wont infect your pc or spread to other pcs. lol. its what we called fake logins. they can only get your details if you log on it - always use your common sense when surfing the net.

Secont … all his details on the said account - it not real. the IP logged on it as well is not his real IP, that is a proxy (to hide his real IP Address). the noobs knows what he’s doing.

Third … Don’t be scared. LOL! Never use the same Passwords on any accounts. ok?

Fourth… GOOD LUCK!

Posted by Dx at December 22, 2008, 6:20 am

this is a helpful suggestion, guide and direction to avoid viruses, spyware, hackers and other malicious site. . .

Thanks to Ian Pestelos about this helpful information

“DONT BE STUPID”

Posted by Michael Paulo at April 10, 2009, 4:07 pm

All comments are moderated. Your comments will not appear here unless approved by the blog owner. Thank you.

Add a comment